Русский / English 
?php echo $word_institute;?>
Projects » Ensuring Nuclear and Radiation Safety » Safety Analysis of the Nuclear Legacy and the Radioactive Waste Disposal


In the context of implementation of the FTP ‘Nuclear and Radiation Safety for 2008 and for the Period till 2015’ (hereinafter ‑ the Program) the challenge of ensuring the radio-ecological safety of radioactive waste disposal has become very topical in recent years. In particular, it includes the justification of:

  • simple and inexpensive solutions for the disposal of Very Low-Level Waste (VLLW);
  • safety of existing waste disposal sites including landfills for Liquid Radioactive Waste (LRW) injection and sites for special radwaste;
  • decisions for the construction of ultimate-disposal facilities for Low-Level and Intermediate-Level Waste (LLW and ILW); and
  • safety of deep ultimate-disposal facilities for High-Level Waste (HLW).

Adequate solution of these problems is based on the development of an up-to-date methodology for radwaste-management safety justification and on the generation of appropriate computer codes.

IBRAE RAN conducts extensive basic and applied research to assess long-term safety of nuclear-power facilities and industrial complexes, and to justify safety of disposal of radwaste and nuclear-legacy facilities. The key areas of these investigations are as follows:

  • development of a general safety-justification methodology for SNF and radwaste management;
  • generation of software tools enabling calculated estimates of radwaste disposal safety;
  • safety assessment of specific facilities and sites;
  • development of non-classical models of radionuclide migration in geological media;
  • systematic analysis of environmental risks in regions of location of nuclear power and industry facilities; and
  • generation of a database for 2500 NRHF.

To simulate the processes of radionuclide migration in ground waters as well as in heterogeneous and porous geological media, software tools of a new generation are being developed that use the capabilities of modern supercomputers to implement most effective numerical methods in terms of performance and reliability (in particular, the method of adaptive computational grids). New computer codes for analysis, calculation and justification of nuclear & radiation safety of nuclear-legacy and radwaste-disposal facilities, 3D modeling of radionuclide transport in all media, calculations of exposure doses, and analysis of radiation risks and environmental threats have been generated.


Arrival of the first special train with SNF from Leningrad NPP to new dry-storage facility at the Mining Chemical Combine. 
Its establishment has become one of the key results of the Program.

The outcomes of IBRAE basic and applied research in the field of safety justification are applied not only at individual facilities (the Techa cascade of reservoirs; commercial uranium-graphite reactors at Siberian Chemical Combine and PA ‘Mayak’; deep disposal facility ‘Zheleznogorskiy’ for liquid radwaste; Kirov-Chepetsk Chemical Plant; and disposal facilities for LLW and ILW), but also when providing scientific and technical support of the FTP ‘Nuclear and Radiation Safety for 2008 and for the Period till 2015’ and the FTP ‘New Technology Platform for Nuclear Power’.

Development of technology to assess the long-term safety of industrial uranium-graphite reactors using a 3D model of the facility and a computational model of admixture filtering in geological media may be cited as an example of adaptation of physical models developed at IBRAE to specific nuclear-legacy facilities. This technology enables calculations for super-long-lived radionuclides, e.g. 36Cl, 1000 years and even 10 000 years ahead.

Simulation of the processes occurring in the course of decommissioning of industrial uranium-graphite reactor AV-1

IBRAE RAN © 2013 Site map | Feedback

Русский / English 
?php echo $word_institute;?>
ИНСТИТУТИССЛЕДОВАНИЯПРОЕКТЫНАУКА И ОБРАЗОВАНИЕНОВОСТИКОНТАКТЫ
 
Проекты » Обеспечение ядерной и радиационной безопасности » Анализ безопасности объектов ядерного наследия и безопасности захоронения радиоактивных отходов (РАО)

АНАЛИЗ БЕЗОПАСНОСТИ ОБЪЕКТОВ ЯДЕРНОГО НАСЛЕДИЯ И БЕЗОПАСНОСТИ ЗАХОРОНЕНИЯ РАДИОАКТИВНЫХ ОТХОДОВ (РАО)


В последние годы в связи с реализацией Федеральной целевой программы «Обеспечение ядерной и ради­ационной безопасности на 2008 год и на период до 2015 года» приобрели чрезвычайную актуальность за­дачи обеспечения радиоэкологической безопасности захоронения радиоактивных отходов. К ним, в частно­сти, относятся проблемы обоснования:

  • простых и дешевых решений по захоронению очень низкоактивных радиоактивных отходов;
  • безопасности действующих объектов захоронения отходов, включая полигоны закачки жидких РАО и пункты размещения особых РАО;
  • решений по сооружению объектов окончательной изоляции низкоактивных и среднеактивных отходов;
  • безопасности объекта глубинного типа окончательной изоляции высокоактивных отходов.

Решение этих задач основано на разработке совре­менной методологии обоснования безопасности об­ращения с РАО и на создании соответствующих расчет­ных кодов.

ИБРАЭ РАН проводит масштабные фундаментальные и прикладные исследования по оценке долгосрочной безопасности объектов использования ядерной энергии и промышленных комплексов, по обоснованию безопасности захоронений РАО и объектов ядерного наследия. Основные направления этих ис­следований включают в себя:

  • развитие общей методологии обоснования безопас­ности обращения с ОЯТ и РАО;
  • создание программных средств расчетной оценки безопасности захоронений;
  • выполнение работ по оценке безопасности кон­кретных объектов;
  • разработку неклассических моделей миграции ра­дионуклидов в геологических средах;
  • выполнен системный анализ экологических рисков в регионах размещения объектов атомной энергетики и промышленности;
  • создание базы данных по 2500 ЯРОО.

Для моделирования процессов миграции радионуклидов в подземных водах, неоднородных и пористых геологических средах разрабатываются программные средства нового поколения, использующие возможности современных суперкомпьютеров по реализации наиболее эффективных с точки зрения быстродействия и надежности численных методов (в частности, методики адаптивных расчетных сеток). Созданы программно-технические комплексы для анализа, расчета, обоснования ядерной и радиационной безопасности объектов ядерного наследия и объектов захоронения РАО, для трехмерного моделирования переноса радионуклидов во всех средах, для расчета доз облучения, анализа радиационных рисков и угроз окружающей среде.

 

Прибытие первого поезда с ОЯТ Ленинградской АЭС в новое сухое хранилище на ГХК.
Создание этого хранилища явилось одним из ключевых результатов ФЦП ЯРБ.

Результаты фундаментальных и прикладных исследований ИБРАЭ РАН в области расчетного обоснования безопасности применяются как на конкретных объектах (Теченский каскад водоемов, промышленные уран-графитовые реакторы на ОАО «СХК», ФГУП «ПО «Маяк», пункт глубинного захоронения жидких РАО «Железногорский», Кирово-Чепецкий химический комбинат, полигоны захоронения низко- и среднеактивных отходов), так и при решении задач по научно-технической поддержке ФЦП «Обеспечение ядерной и радиационной безопасности на 2008 год и на период до 2015 года» и ФЦП «Новая технологическая платформа атомной энергетики».

В качестве примера адаптации разработанных в ИБРАЭ РАН физических моделей к конкретным объектам наследия можно привести создание технологии оценки долгосрочной безопасности промышленных уран-графитовых реакторов (ПУГР), с использованием трехмерной модели объекта и расчетной модели фильтрации примесей в геологических средах. Эта технология позволяет проводить расчеты по сверхдолгоживущим радионуклидам, например, по изотопу хлора 36Cl, на 1000 лет и даже на 10 000 лет вперед.

Моделирование процессов, имеющих место при выведении из эксплуатации ПУГР АВ-1


ИБРАЭ РАН © 2013 Карта сайта | Связаться с нами